Seven Graduates Earn LSU’s Distinguished Communicator Award

BATON ROUGE – Seven graduates were awarded the Distinguished Communicator Award during LSU’s 297th commencement exercises.

These students earned this honor by meeting high standards set by faculty in various colleges and by the LSU Communication across the Curriculum program. The students earned high grade-point averages in communication-intensive courses – based on written, spoken, visual and technological communication – and built digital portfolios, displayed as public websites, which included their communication projects from courses, internships, leadership roles and public service.

This semester’s Distinguished Communicators are as follows, listed by hometown:

Baton Rouge, La. – Lily LaGrange, economics; Allison Hultgren, biochemistry

Destrehan, La. – Jessica Mire, chemical engineering

Mandeville, La. – Jennifer Algero, psychology

Monroe, La. – Miranda Ross, chemical engineering

Prairieville, La. – Cameron Larks, biological engineering; Jeanne Steyer, biological engineering

The LSU Distinguished Communicator program was created in 2006 to enhance learning experiences for LSU students and support the improvement of students’ communication skills.

For more information on Communication across the Curriculum, call 225-578-7795 or visit



Contact Ernie Ballard
LSU Media Relations